Phoenix Chamber announces 11 finalists for Athena Award

The Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce announced the 11 women chosen as finalists for its prestigious Athena Awards as it continues its 28-year tradition of recognizing outstanding Valley businesswomen.

The Athena Businesswoman of the Year Award recognizes a woman in the public and private sector, in addition to highlighting an upcoming leader in the Valley as an Athena Young Professional, according to a press release. PHX Chamber

Athena finalists are chosen for their excellence in business and leadership, dedication to the community and support and mentorship of other women. The 11 finalists are:

Athena Private Sector finalists:

  • Judi Butterworth, Velocity Retail Group
  • Heidi Jannenga, WebPT
  • Melissa Sanderson, Freeport-McMoRan Inc.
  • Kay Wing, Southwest Advanced Neurological Rehabilitation (SWAN Rehab)

Athena Public Sector finalists:

  • Cathy Brown, First Things First
  • Lillian Garcia, American Red Cross
  • Sunnee O’Rork, i.d.e.a. Museum
  • Leah Fregulia Roberts, Arizona School for the Arts

Athena Young Professional finalists:

  • Jessica Hipskind, University of Phoenix
  • Ashley Kasarjian, Snell and Wilmer L.L.P.
  • Lea Phillips, Ballard Spahr LLP

The Athena Award highlights women who have achieved the pinnacle of success within their industry, have mentored women throughout their career, and have dedicated themselves to the community through various activities and charities.

The Athena Award, a program of the international ATHENA organization founded by Martha Mertz in 1982, supports, develops and honors women leaders and pushes them to reach their full potential by invoking the ideals of the Greek goddess of courage, wisdom, arts and science, stated the release.

Three Athena Award recipients will be announced at the Chamber’s 28th Annual Athena Awards luncheon on Thursday, Oct. 29, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at The Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort.

Join the Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce to help celebrate the outstanding businesswomen in our community and to support all nominees, finalists and recipients past and present. To register, visit online Registration for this event closes on Thursday, Oct. 22 at 5 p.m. Call 602-495-2182 for any questions.

“All of today’s Athena finalists’ achievements serve as an inspiration for us all and embody the spirit of this prestigious award,” stated Todd Sanders, president and CEO of the Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce, in the release. “These exemplary women represent professional excellence and leadership of the highest honor and have a genuine desire to inspire, develop and support other women to achieve their full potential. They make our community a better place in which to live, work and play.”

The Chamber congratulates all of the 2015 Nominees:

  • Susan Anable, Cox Communications
  • Rhonda Bannard, Inspired Connections
  • Samantha Bauer, AAA Arizona
  • Susan Berman, Fresh Start Women’s Foundation
  • Lynda Bishop, Relationship Insurance
  • Glynis Bryan, Insight
  • Tyler Butler, GoDaddy
  • Katherine Castignetti, Arizona Managing Partners
  • Alyssa Crockett, Ryan House
  • Dr. Lily Matos DeBlieux, Pendergast School District
  • Cheryl Denham, Arizona Family Florist LLC
  • Michelle Dew, Scottsdale Community College
  • Jessica Estrada, Grant Thornton LLP
  • Dr. Rockel Etienne, Argosy University
  • Stefanie Fasciocco,  Awe Collective
  • Laura Franco French, Arizona Office of Tourism
  • Nicole Maroulakos Goodwin, Greenberg Traurig, LLP
  • Cheryl Green, AZ Big Media
  • Angela Hughey, ONE Community
  • Veronique James, The James Agency
  • Chris Linn, Feeding Matters
  • Salli Marinov, First American Stock Transfer, Inc.
  • Lupe Martinez, APS
  • Carol May, Wisdom Natural Brands
  • Kara McAllister-Dommel, Hair Again Salon
  • Julia Meyerson, Vista College Prep
  • Taryn Norley, The ALS Association, Arizona Chapter
  • Maureen O’Brien, Musical Instrument Museum
  • Jarrett Ransom, ReAwaken
  • Chandra Reilly, Sundt Construction, Inc.
  • Melba Rivera-Irizarry, Apollo Education Group
  • Karen Saelens, UnitedHealthcare
  • Carla Sandine, Highway Twenty
  • Blair Coe Schweiger, Genesis City
  • Margaret Serrano-Foster, Old Republic Title Holding Company
  • Scarlett Spring, VisionGate
  • Ursula Strephans, Central Arizona Shelter Services
  • Anne Trauter, Amalgamated Food Brokerage
  • Amanda Ventura, AZ Big Media
  • Terri Wogan, Social Venture Partners Arizona

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment