March of Dimes recognizes nurses for care, compassion, integrity

Kara Snyder, left, event chair, stands with 2018 Nurse of the Year winners: Deidre Walton, Jill Bigelow, Deborah Dompier, Karen J. Saewert, Nancy Denke, Shelly Diana, Caryn Barman, Kara Ihrke, Brien Hutt, Elizabeth Chapin. Not pictured: Catherine Mohammed and Deana Amend. (Photo/Photography by Mire Images, LLC)

Twelve caregivers were honored for their “extraordinary level of patient care, compassion, integrity, professionalism and leadership” in the nursing profession at the March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards.

Sen. Kimberly Yee was named Legislative Champion during the Friday, June 15, luncheon at the Camby Hotel in Phoenix. Approximately 250 guests attended.

“March of Dimes presented 12 awards to nurses who exemplify an extraordinary level of patient care, compassion and customer service in their specific disciplines,” according to a release.

A total of 33 finalists were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the profession. March of Dimes received more than 400 nominations for this year’s Nurse of the Year Awards, the release stated.

Nurses employed in the state of Arizona were eligible. A selection committee comprised of health care professionals reviewed and scored the confidential application forms.

“Whether serving as health care provider, educator, researcher, volunteer and/or adviser – nurses play a critical role in advancing the mission of March of Dimes,” the release stated. “The Nurse of the Year initiative supports this mission while recognizing exceptional nurses throughout the state, celebrating the profession, and creating awareness of the strides made in this growing field.”

The 2018 Nurse of the Year Awards is sponsored UnitedHealth Group Center for Clinician Advancement, Chamberlain College of Nursing, Dignity Health, Grand Canyon University College of Nursing, Phoenix Children’s Hospital and University of Phoenix. The winners:

  • Advanced Practice:  Nancy Denke, DNP, ACNP-BC, FNP-BC, FAEN
  • Care Coordination/Public Health & Ambulatory:  Elizabeth Chapin, RN, BSN, OCN, MSAP
  • Charge Nurse:  Shelly Diana, MSN, RN, CCRN
  • Critical Care/Emergency:  Deborah Dompier, RN, BSN, MSN, CCRN
  • Education, Presented by Chamberlain College of Nursing:  Karen J. Saewert, PhD, RN, CPHQ, ANEF
  • Friend of Nursing:  Caryn Barman, PT, DPT, PCS
  • General Medical/Surgical:  Jill Bigelow, BSN, RN, CMSRN
  • Nursing Leadership/ Administration Management, Presented by Grand Canyon University College of Nursing and Health Care Professions:  Catherine Mohammed, PhD(c), MN, RN
  • Pediatric, Presented by Phoenix Children’s Hospital:  Kara Ihrke, RN, MSN, ACRN
  • Student Nurse, Presented by University of Phoenix:  Brien Hutt, LPN
  • Women’s Health, Presented by Dignity Health:  Deana Amend, MSN, RNC-OB
  • Distinguished Nurse of the Year, Presented by UnitedHealth Group Center for Clinician Advancement: Deidre Walton, JD, MSN, BSN, RN
  • Legislative Champion:  Sen. Kimberly Yee

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment